IMPORTANT: Do not buy anything claiming to be from StudyBullets. All our materials are provided for free.

 ⇒ Level 3 Diploma in Adult Care ⇒ Level 3 Diploma Optional Units ⇒ Unit 385 Understand how to provide support when working in end of life care ⇒ 3.1 Compare models of loss and grief

3.1 Compare models of loss and grief

Qualification: Level 3 Diploma in Adult Care Optional Units
Unit: Unit 385 Understand how to provide support when working in end of life care
Learning outcome: 3 Understand an individual’s response to their anticipated death
Assessment criteria: 3.1 Compare models of loss and grief

  • Models of loss and grief include:
    • Kübler-Ross: 5 Stages of Grief Model (1969)
      1. Denial
      2. Anger
      3. Bargaining
      4. Depression
      5. Acceptance
    • Worden: 4 tasks of Mourning (1989)
      1. Acceptance of loss
      2. Acknowledging/experiencing the pain of the loss
      3. Adjusting to a new environment
      4. Reinvesting in the reality of a new life
    • Stroebe & Schute: Dual Process Model of Grief (1999)
      • Individuals switch/oscilliate between two states
        1. Loss-oriented – thinking about the loss, crying, reminiscing etc.
        2. Restoration-oriented – carrying on with day-to-day tasks, denial, avoidance, distraction etc.
  • Kübler-Ross describes the range of the strong emotional feelings associated with loss and understanding of why some emotions and behaviours may manifest
  • Worden reminds us that we should give individuals time to learn to move on from loss
  • Stroebe & Schute can help us to understand why individuals may fluctuate from sadness to seemingly ‘okay’
  • All individuals are different and will process grief and loss differently – these models will not accurately describe what an individual goes through in an exact sequence

Leave a Comment